Home / Regional Cooperation in ASEAN / ASEAN Committee on Consumer Protection (ACCP)

ASEAN Committee on Consumer Protection (ACCP)

The ASEAN Committee on Consumer Protection (ACCP) was established in 2007 by the ASEAN Economic Ministers in 2007. Its members are representatives of consumer protection agencies of AMS. The ACCP serves as the focal point to implement and monitor regional arrangements and mechanisms to foster consumer protection in the ASEAN Economic Community.

The ACCP’s role is to ensure that consumer protection measures, including laws, regulations and policies, are in place in all AMS; consumers’ access to information is enhanced, mechanisms for consumer redress and product recalls are in place, and institutional capacity strengthened. These are reflected in the strategic approaches adopted under the AEC Blueprint 2015-2025 and the more detailed initiatives under the ASEAN Strategic Action Plan on Consumer Protection (ASAPCP 2025).

Current Chair of ACCP:

Dr. Moe Moe Thwe
Member of the Myanmar Consumer Protection Commission
Director-General for the Intellectual Property Department
The Ministry of Commerce.
The Republic of the Union of Myanmar.